CAC Award of Distinction

web-banner-header (2)







Established in 2012, the CAC Award of Distinction program recognizes excellence in Canada’s coal industry.  Through the award, the CAC shines a spotlight on deserving individuals who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments in the coal industry in Canada.


To be eligible for the Award of Distinction, the recipient should make a positive contribution to Canada’s coal industry either past or present. The coal industry includes the full coal transportation chain (terminal, port, railway), industrial coal consumers (power utilities and cement manufacturing), and a myriad of suppliers of goods and services that support the industry.

Consider someone who has demonstrated leadership, innovation, commitment to safety, productivity, or excellence in human resources or management.

Nominations and Deadline

Nominating someone for the CAC Award of Distinction is easy. You don’t need to be a member of the Coal Association of Canada to nominate someone for the award or to receive the award.  Just download the Nomination Form (below) and forward it to the CAC before the nomination deadline.

Award of Distinction Nomination Form

The 2018 Award of Distinction will be bestowed at the CAC Annual Banquet on September 13, 2018 at the Westin Bayshore Vancouver.  If you would like to attend the banquet, please contact Reise O’Hara.


Reise O’Hara
Director of Government Relations
Coal Association of Canada